Participation on committees are opportunities for members to develop and acquire skills, create a network of colleagues, and carry on the work of the South region. Get involved! Contact Debbie Poweleit at to sign up.

The Awards committee accepts and reviews all nominations for awards, grants and scholarships to be awarded at the annual South conference.

  • Co-Chairs:
    • Dan Connell, Morehead State University
    • Laura Ricke, Western Kentucky University
  • Members:
    • Nancy Herron, University of Houston
    • Joseph Allen, University of Georgia
    • Jie Ke, Jackson State University
    • Rick Sluder, Middle Tennesee State University
    • Andrea Swaney, Florida Institute of Technology

History and Traditions
This committee maintains and develops region history including all permanent records of the region. The committee also maintains a record of regional traditions relative to protocol, organization, and procedures.

  • Chair:
    • Julie Shankle, Florida Institute of Technology
  • Members:
    • Brittney Sholar, Western Kentucky University
    • Dan Lavit, Murray State University

Long Range Planning
The Long Range Planning committee recommends goals and objectives for consideration by the Executive Committee. The committee is responsible for continuous review of previously established goals and objectives.

  • Chair:
    • Julie Shankle, Florida Institute of Technology
  • Members:
    • Dewayne Neeley, Western Kentucky University
    • Jay Reilly, Middle Tennessee State University
    • Rick Sluder, Middle Tennessee State University
    • Henry Findlay, Tuskegee University
    • Judy Hand, University of Alabama

This committee consists of representatives from each state who will work on increasing the membership of the South Region including attendance at the annual regional conference.

  • Chair:
    • Debbie Poweleit
  • Members:
    • Alabama: OPEN
    • Arkansas: OPEN
    • Florida: Sam Porter, Florida Institute of Technology
    • Georgia: Joseph Allen, University of Georgia
    • Kentucky: Slone Cansler, Murray State University
    • Louisiana: OPEN
    • Mississippi: OPEN
    • South Carolina: OPEN
    • Tennessee: OPEN
    • Texas: Audrey Johnson, Baylor
    • Caribbean: OPEN
    • Puerto Rico: OPEN
    • Jamaica: OPEN

Web Content Committee
This committee shall maintain the ACHE South website and social media with up-to-date and pertinent content related to ACHE South membership, news, and conferences.

  • Chair:
    • Patti Spaniola, University of West Florida
  • Members:
    • Dewayne Neeley, Western Kentucky University
    • Lisa Schmidt, Murray State University
    • James Shamlee, University of Alabama
    • April Rainbolt, East Tennessee State University