Registration Open


Early Bird Registration ends February 21st

About Us

ACHE South is a dynamic network of diverse professionals who are dedicated to promoting excellence in continuing higher education and sharing their expertise and experience with one another.  We are comprised of the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas.  International locations include the Caribbean, Jamaica, and Puerto Rico.  Our annual conference is held in April at various locations in the region.

ACHE South Bylaws

Meet Our Officers

Marilyn Read, Chair
Marilyn ReedMarilyn is a Coordinator for Continuing Education at Delta State University. She began her higher education career in Institutional Research but quickly moved to Continuing Education, where she found her niche. As an active member of ACHE for the past 9 years, Marilyn has served on numerous planning committees and as the 2011-2012 South Region Chair. Currently, she is volunteering for the 2016 South conference as chair of the First Timer's Breakfast.

Debbie Poweleit, Past Chair
Debbie PoweleitDebbie Poweleit currently serves as faculty at Northern Kentucky University, where she previously held the position of Director of Adult Learners Programs and Services and has worked with post-secondary learners since 2002. Her experience has included private and public undergraduate admissions and orientation, online and evening accelerated programs, cohort corporate partnerships, academic advising, and credit for prior learning. Debbie holds an MS in Human Development and Leadership from Murray State University, a BA degree in Liberal Studies and an AA degree in Business from Mount St. Joseph University (formerly College of Mount Saint Joseph) and a certificate in Career and Education Advising from CAEL.

Andrea Swaney, Chair-Elect
Andrea MorleyAndrea Swaney is the Assistant Director at Florida Tech Online. A graduate of Florida Tech in Florida, Andrea studied criminal justice and information technology. In 2016, she was nominated, selected, and attended the Emerging Leader Institute sponsored by the Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE). She is a member of the Phi Kappa Phi honor society and is the past faculty advisor for the first-ever online student fraternity group at Florida Tech: Theta Omega Gamma (TOG). In addition to her administrative responsibilities, she also teaches courses in Business Computer Skills, Management Information Systems, and Electronic Commerce. The majority of her career has been spent in higher education working with nontraditional students.

Steven Frye, Secretary

Steve Frye is an Associate Professor and Director of the School of Interdisciplinary Studies at Tennessee Tech University in Cookeville TN.   The I.S. major serves students on campus, online and through off-campus 2+2 programs, and has a high concentration of adult non-traditional learners in a traditional university.  In addition to his administrative responsibilities, he also teaches courses in Adult Learning, Critical Thinking and Problem Solving, Freshmen Experience, and Religious Studies.  Steve holds a B.A. from Carson-Newman College, M.Div. from Midwestern Baptist Seminary, a Th.M. from Duke University, and a Ph.D. in Adult Education from the University of Tennessee.  His research has focused on adult learning theory, student engagement, teaching, and conceptual change, and adult religious education.  Steve is a recent past-president of the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education.

Joseph Allen, Treasurer
Joseph AllenJoseph Allen is Treasury for ACHE South Region, a position he has held since 2006. He is also the Assistant Director at the University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education. In his current role, Joseph works closely with the Center's leadership to coordinate its strategic planning initiatives, liaison with internal and external marketing partners and lead process improvement activities across the organization. Joseph also works directly with the Georgia Center Director to oversee and execute special projects that impact the overall organization. Joseph holds both a B.A. and a Masters of Education from the University of Georgia and has worked at the Georgia Center since 1990.

Beth CrewsBeth Crews, Member-at-Large

Beth Crews is the Director of Undergraduate Evening Studies at Furman University. After earning her master’s degree from Clemson University in Student Affairs in 2012, she has worked at Furman advocating for the inclusion and needs of adult students. Professionally, she is involved with ACHE-South, South Carolina Women in Higher Education, Greenville Technical College Accounting advisory board, UPCEA, and Quality Matters.

David Wood, Member-at-Large

Following his retirement after more than 20 years in the United States Army, David W. Wood has held leadership positions as Director, Executive Director, Dean and Assistant Vice President at Indiana University and Trine University in Indiana. David currently serves as the Executive Director of Continuing Education and Outreach at Stetson University in Deland, Florida.  David holds a Bachelor’s degree in Human Resources Management from Oakland City University, a Master’s degree in Management from Indiana Wesleyan University, and has completed his doctoral coursework at Northcentral University.  David’s dissertation studies focus on the area of organizational structure and behaviors.  David has volunteered for numerous organizations, including the Indiana Council for Continuing Education (ICCE), where he served in numerous leadership positions including President.